Following My Money – Found My Idol

Have you heard of Mark Driscoll? He is the preacher at the Mars Hill Church in Seattle, WA.  I follow him on Facebook and Twitter because I find good advise and nice little one liners here and there.  The other day I was scrolling through my news feed and I saw:

If you want to find your idol, follow your money.

I did that tonight and I am not afraid to tell you what my idol is…FOOD.  Some of you may be thinking I KNEW IT or oh great here we go again when is he going to get his life right?  I would like to say I am trying, but the word trying means there should be some sort of action behind it huh, so I cannot say that.

I opened up my Arvest online banking and looked through our statement.  In the last ten days I see where I ate out twenty-two times.  I then added up all the transactions coming to a total of $159.60 or 638 McNuggets.  That is a lot of money, that is a lot of money for anything let alone eating out.  I have a six month old daughter that I have to buy diapers for, a wife to take care of, and a mortgage payment! And I am out eating this junk!

Why do I like it so much?  Why do I want the taste of this yummy goodness that comes in a sack or box? I can tell you why, because I am a

According to Dr. Oz some food addiction is as great as a cocaine addiction:

Dr Oz: Carbs, The New Cocaine?

Dr Oz did a show called Carbs: The New Cocaine? because carbohydrates may just be one of the most addictive substances out there.  Gary Taubes told Doctor Oz on another show that he believes that everyone should eliminate all carbs from their diets (click here to read that recap:Dr Oz Gary Taubes).  On today’s show, Dr Oz is not being as strict as Taubes and saying that all carbs must be eliminated – just the unhealthy carbs like the foods made from white flour such as bread and pasta.  These unhealthy carbohydrates could be as addictive as Heroine or Cocaine!  After reading this article, you will be able to figure out if you are a Carb Addict or not, and then you can go on Dr Oz’s 28 Day Carb Addict Plan if necessary.

This is so serious that Dr. Oz has come up with a 28 day Carb Addict Plan. Which I may be doing soon, I am not really sure what I want to do yet.  This plan comes to mind, the Daniel’s Fast comes to mind and reading a book called Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God. Not Food by Lysa TerKeurst.

One of the difficult things about reading this book is that fact that I do not read!  The fact that I do not read is because it is so difficult to read.  I have to stop and look up words if I do not know them.  Then there is me trying to underline the whole book because I do not want to miss anything.  Then I forget that I was reading a book and have to go back and re-read stuff because I forgot what it said.  of course all this stuff is just excuses, but it is true how difficult it is for me to sit down or lay in bed and read.

Since this post is getting so long I will stop here.  Thanks for reading a dugs life.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

