Should be working on a Doctorate

Ashlee, my wife, saw a commercial on TV from http://www.atu.edu It was about finishing your degree online if “LIFE” has gotten in your way to finish in class.  So, I emailed the lady in charge to see what I would have to do to complete my bachelors that I have been working on since 2001.  She responded saying I would have 22 more hours to finish my degree and that I will be able to do this in two semesters!

Bad news is that I will not be able to take them all at once due to lack of money.  I will not be able to get financial aid due to me being behind on hours. I would not feel right trying to appeal it for the fourth time saying I promise this is THE time I will pass.

What is really sad is Ashlee and I were looking at my transcript and they post ATTEMPTED HOURS and PASSED HOURS.  The ATTEMPTED HOURS is 170ish and my PASSED HOURS is 109.  I have ATTEMPTED so many hours that I should be in a doctorate program.  No wonder I have so much debt in student loans!

I feel like finishing my degree this way feels cheap or cheating the system some how, but I just need that really fancy piece of paper.  I want to be able to tell my daughter that no matter how long something takes you YOU FINISH IT.  Yes, I have been in college on and off for ten years, yikes TEN YEARS!  But I am not giving up, I have been known for giving up on a lot of things, but there are two things that I strive to complete.  Those are 1. my marriage and 2. this blast degree.

What bothers me the most about the degree online is there is no real name for it, like I am working on my Sociology degree. This one is called “Arkansas Tech’s Accelerated Degree Program” and my emphasis area would be Criminal Justice.  I have a friend or two who are generally studied and they are really smart, so I have no problems being generally studied either.

Today is a new day; a new beginning.  It has been given to me as a new gift.  I can either use it or throw it away.  What I do today will affect me tomorrow.  I cannot blame anyone but myself if I do not succeed.  I promise to use this day to the fullest by giving my best realizing it can never come back again.  This is my life and I choose to make it a SUCCESS.

Thanks for reading a dugs life, go be a success today.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

